An Early Birthday Gift…

I’ve still got 49 days to go, before I turn 60, but my birthday gift to myself arrived today. It was love at first sight when I saw it hanging in Museum Jan van der Togt in Amstelveen, during the opening of the Retrospective of Jan van Breda‘s work as a photographer. There was another one there too called ‘Amstel Hotel’ with Willink-like skies.

Then and now it still looks like a fine oil painting, in which Jan has put all his craft to get it in one shot. Most people know this view from when they arrive in Amsterdam, traveling by train from Amersfoort or Utrecht. Jan calls this masterpiece “Homecoming”, and to me it is homecoming too.

And the best thing is of course, when the clouds are gray, I’ve still a sunny view on Amsterdam.

3 thoughts on “An Early Birthday Gift…

Comments are closed.