The Day After The Afternoon / Evening Before…

10893498_10153244028674040_1041881096_nWillkommen, Bienvenue, Welcome!
Fremde, etranger, stranger.
Glucklich zu sehen, je suis enchante,
Happy to see you, bleibe, reste, stay.

Meine Damen und Herren, Mesdames et Messieurs,
Ladies and Gentlemen! Guten Abend, bon soir,
Wie geht’s? Comment ca va? Do you feel good?
I bet you do!

Another show at the ‘Palace of Melancholy’ was held yesterday. That is my friend Luna Lunettes, presenter and creator off the show. She’s also my coorganizer at Pink Noord.

Alas it was not a sold out house like last month, but we had this Sunday a surprise act even I didn’t know about. Normally we talk about all the performers beforehand, and here was Wilma Bakker on our stage! Wilma sang “La Vie en Rose” by Edith Piaf. If you would have closed your eyes you would think Edith was standing on stage. Wilma also does a great Marlene Dietrich.

Also ‘De Poppers’ are a great act, Hairy & Barey Popper. Where Hairy is a bit of a quiet person and Barey the flamboyant one, but their voices go very well together.  They did a great “What happened to class…” from the musical Chicago. So good, it kept popping up in my head the whole way home on the electric scooter.

Whatever happened to fair dealing…
And pure ethics…
And nice manners?
Why is it everyone now is a pain in the ass?
Whatever happened to class?

Yes, it was a long day, we started with rehearsals at 13.00 (1 pm) and I went home at 21.30 (9.30 pm) and to arrive 45 minutes later with half-frozen hands. Don’t worry you won’t see me tap dancing on stage or even worse singing, I’m the one who welcomes the visitors and take their money for the show, during the break and afterwards I make small talk with the visitors. Hoping they enjoy the show, and if not, what we can do to make it better. (we don’t do refunds).

Today I slept in, watched some TV and got a surprise visit from Luna, bringing me a bunch of tulips as a thank-you for the things I did. In a way I‘m glad I quit my previous job, most of it was done from behind a computer, now I’m surrounded by real people from all walks of life.

Photo by this post: macsiers.nl

3 thoughts on “The Day After The Afternoon / Evening Before…

  1. lieve Peter, fijn om te zien hoe je geniet van alle nieuwe contacten die je hebt gemaakt in de afgelopen periode. En…zoals je zegt, tussen de mensen in plaats van online. Geniet ervan!

Comments are closed.