A Last Look…

rode-roosI wanted to keep my appointments I had during the week, just sitting at home alone was not what I wanted. Just the sounds of ‘life’ would keep me sane, I thought.

So last Saturday evening I did go to town to my local bar and had a great time. On Sunday the funeral director came, and went. Monday I spend partly with my Dad, going over the arrangements. Tuesday was filled with hospital appointments, a check-up and ordering new made-to-measure clogs shoes. In the evening I had planned a visit to the monthly Soirée Frivolettes at Café ‘t Mandje but I arrived home on the last vapors of the scooter. (I drive electric, so the batteries were empty). It takes at least 12 hours to have them full again.

My Wednesday appointment was cancelled since my friend overdid himself while singing, no voice at all was left. I spend most of the day at my Dad’s place and we had dinner together. Dad cooked btw.

Thursday came, my lecture at the Rijks Museum I cancelled because my Dad thought I would miss the last viewing before the casket would be closed. They did a wonderful job at the funeral home, that was the woman I knew with just a little make-up and the twin-set and necklace she loved so much. After saying good-bye we all helped to close the lid and screw it tight. A final farewell was said…

The eight of us had dinner together, Indonesian food my Mum used to love so much. Afterwards I did go out to a Pink drink in another part of town. Just to talk to people who didn’t know me. Later today my Mum’s remains will be cremated after a short but simple ceremony. The end of a life time or as one of my online friends wrote to me: “What a strange thing life is. We fall here, hopefully in the right place, we live and then we leave. It is grand and somewhat illogic at the same time, but what is logic?”

Good bye Mutterchen…

4 thoughts on “A Last Look…

  1. That was wonderful. I’m only just finding out all this, having been released from hospital after 5 weeks. I am so sorry for this news. I send you love and hugs as you keep on going while remembering all the good things about your Mum.
    Love and hugs,
    Wayne

Comments are closed.