Smell Of Pines…

CIMG5863An unplanned day is sometimes a good one. Yesterday was such a day. I promised my ‘boss’ I would visit the Kröller-Müller museum sculpture gardens to see one of the projects members of our Guild helped to make and construct. Officially I would go last Sunday, but due to the weather forecast I stayed home.

Yesterday, it was Sunny, a bit windy and some clouds, but great to travel. A bus from Valys picked me up at home and brought me and my electric scooter to the entrance of the Hoge Veluwe National Park. Some 62 miles / 100 km from Amsterdam. If you go there buy tickets in advance (e-ticket).

From the entrance to the museum is about 2 miles / 3 km, you can take a free white bike and cycle all the way, while you sniff the smell of pines, and for a change they don’t come out of an aerosol can. Or drive by car (beware you buy a parking ticket too when you buy your tickets online.)

I just went to see The Circle of Clothing, a project by Pet van de Luijtgaarden, he’s a collector of collections. 100 designers and tailors worked together on this project, a fifth of them members of the Guild.

Afterwards I drove further into the park on my way to Jachtslot St Hubertus, the summer residence of the former owners of the grounds. Next time I buy a ticket in advance just to see the interior of that building, a Gezamtkunstwerk by architect / designer Berlage.

BTW, the second largest collection of paintings by Van Gogh hangs in the Kröller-Müller Museum. So what you’ve missed at the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam, can be seen there.

One thought on “Smell Of Pines…

Comments are closed.