Pink Monday in Tilburg

rozemaandagWe have Roze Zaterdag, (Pink Saturday), first Saturday in July, which is the start of Pride in the Netherlands. Every year another city is the host. The next big pink event is today its Roze Maandag, or Pink Monday which is always held in Tilburg, during the largest fair in Europe. A celebration of diversity. Earlier this morning a pink train left Amsterdam, on the train the party had already started, and without switching in Den Bosch (which you normally have to do to reach Tilburg) the passengers arrive in an hour or so.

The owners of bar ‘De Engel van Amsterdam’ have arranged for a coach. We’ll leave Amsterdam around noon for our day of fun on the Tilburg Fair. When they heard I was coming too their first reaction was “Can you walk that distance?” And I said “No, but I have all the time in the world to get me to the first bar with a terrace and see the crowd go by.” I’m not going to do stupid things, like bungy-jumping or getting drunk.

The dresscode is pink of course, so I’ll fit in with my pink cap, pink shirt and pink rimmed umbrella (the forecast is rain).

 

8 thoughts on “Pink Monday in Tilburg

    1. It rained and then the sun came out and then it rained some more… it was a fun day out, and that was the main thing.

  1. Sounds like a really good time. Please save the drunken bungee jump until I visit. That, I’ve got to see!!! 😉

    BTW, love the new look of the place.

    1. No bungee jump for me, I’m afraid of heights. But you should have seen the two of us, Mario and me in the giant Ferris wheel… he’s afraid of heights too.

    1. Anne Marie we had a great time. I have to wait for pix from the others since my camera broke down just after two shots.

Comments are closed.