Daily Archives: November 5, 2013

Oktoberfest in November

I haven’t been going out lately, to bars or restaurants, but when I saw the poster for a Oktoberfest in Café De Engel on Zeedijk I asked my friend Mario if he was interested to come with me. Next to Beer they would offer Bratwurst and Kartoffelsalad [Potato Salad German Style], and of course Schlagermusik [German pop music].


Okay, it didn’t fit in my diet, I had several glasses of beer but no wurst or salad. And Mario had several glasses of white wine but also nothing to eat. So afterwards we had a sandwich on Prins Hendrikkade @ PrinsHeerlijk where they serve breakfast from 8 am till 11.30 pm, 7 days a week. I had a delicious whole wheat bun with Filet Americain* and pesto.

*A good Filet Americain can only be found in the Netherlands, it’s a lean meat spread made of finely minced and seasoned raw beef.