Penny Pinching

bubble-foot-printIn my family I’m not known as a penny-pincher, but I do like a bargain, as most Dutch do. So when “Big Blue Supermarket” said all their A-brand detergents would be buy one and get one free, I went for it. At the register it turned out only certain brands had that discount, so I left without soap.

This morning I checked a certain Dutch website to see where my brand was for sale at a discount, and just across the street they gave a discount of 60 percent! And that for a brand you never see at discount prices. The only drawback was that I only had the choice between a dark color version and a fine fabric one, so I went for the latter, which can be used for everything.

Better check for toilet paper soon because I’m running low on that as well.

3 thoughts on “Penny Pinching

  1. Haha! Penny-pincher? I call it wise shopping! We always wait for our favorite brand of toilet paper to go on sale which is almost every three months. We then buy a large quantity, enough to last until the next sale! We do the same for most or the items we buy on a regular basis.

    It gets a little harder for clothes. My favorite underwear is usually sold for 15 bucks a pair. The other day I went to the mall and I saw they had 40% rebate on underwear. Yay! But when I looked closely, they had pushed up the price at 20$ a pair. HA! So I paid 12.00, still far from the 9,00 I was hoping for.

    1. I’ve got the toilet paper as well, for just 22 eurocent a roll.
      Underwear in my size is hard to obtain, the last ones I bought was in Chicago, summer 2009. They’re getting a bit thin now so I’ll better check the Rochester site for some new ones. Or wait till I get to NY next season and get some there. [saves on import tax and shipping]

  2. my fave penny-pinching store is aldi; without it, I could not feed spouse, 2 cats, and myself. I also clip coupons for some the products I use. I use off brands (store, generic) as much as possible.

Comments are closed.