Party Weekend…

life-is-a-partyIt started all on Saturday morning 11 AM, coffee verkeerd with a baked ham/cheese sandwich at Noordermarkt, with longtime friend/neighbor Corrie. The last time we did this was about a year ago. The baked sandwich tasted like the finest patissery. Afterwards we did some shopping on Lindengracht market before heading home.

Around 5 PM I left my home to pick up Mario, another neighbor, to go to a combined 95th birthday bash of PN friends. I planned on staying not the whole evening, but it was so beregezellig*, we left as some of the last ones. During that party we met old friends and made new ones. I even met a commenter/reader of this blog, it’s a small world.

This morning I just went to see my parents, they celebrate their 61st wedding day today, just coffee and vlaai was served. My Mum originates from the south of the country and my Dad from here, in Amsterdam.

Later this afternoon I’m going to visit a friend who’s turning 50 today, I’ve known him for 25 years, on and off. We only see each other once or twice a year, while we don’t live that far from each other, but that’s life too.

*Gezellig is one of the Dutch words you can’t translate in English or any other language, cosy is close but not really the right word. Gezellig is a feeling.