Forgotten Photos

CIMG4726After downloading the photos of Amsterdam Gay Pride on Sunday I found some others on the chip as well.

<< This is the former town hall of Edam, built in 1737, now a museum, a place to get married and a tourist office.

A few weeks ago while passing through Landsmeer, a little village next to Amsterdam, I bought some home-made meals at a supermarket, they were delicious! So the next week I took the 3 mile drive again, but heard they only sold those products on Friday, and leftovers [if there were any] on Saturday. But they named their supplier as being Keurslager [butcher] Taam of Edam.

CIMG4728Of course at home I checked where they were located in Edam. And the next week my Dad, Big Sis and I visited the butcher, and filled our fridge with meals. That was 3 weeks ago.  So last Monday I went there myself. First I had myself dropped of by Connexxion, including the scooter, near the Dam in the river Ye. >>
It’s a very steep bridge with locks on both sides. It’s good there are normal bridges nearby otherwise you would never see the rest of town. Just for a day out… some shopping and enjoying the countryside.

The terrace of the Dam Hotel was tempting, but all seats were filled. So I did my meal shopping first, stacked everything in my cooler bag and then went back for coffee and a light lunch. Of course I brought a book and a newspaper, soaking up sun in the mean time. An hour-and-a-half later I was back on my way to Amsterdam, which is some 11 miles down the road.

The pictures below depicted the following sights, from the cycle path along N247 Monnickendammerjaagweg [I know you like tongue breakers!]: Driving towards Volendam. The bridge over the Zedde near Katwoude. Looking over the polders towards Amsterdam Westpoort, on the right. And at the horizon the Electricity Plant Hemweg in Westpoort.
edam

4 thoughts on “Forgotten Photos

Comments are closed.