Greetings from Costa Verandah

weather-forecast-20130708Half the nation moved abroad to spend their vacation in the sun in France, Lake Garda in Italy or the Costa’s in Spain. The other half stays in the country to work or have their days off in the Dutch sun, I’m one of them. First I don’t have to work, I stopped 12 years and 10 days ago. Because of health issues I was forced to stop working. So every day is a day off work, but not every day feels like vacation.

I haven’t made up my mind yet what I’ll do today, do I take that trip over the Waterlandse Zeedijk to Monnickendam [25 km /15 miles] and the short route back [8 km / 5 miles]. Or do I stay on my veranda with a book and a cool drink?! BTW, that book goes everywhere also on the trip.

That’s one of the pleasures of “Costa Veranda”, you don’t have to pack a suitcase, no traffic jam to the airport or nuisance at the gate or almost getting strip searched by custom officials. Your ‘hotel’ has all the comforts of home, a stocked fridge, a bed that is familiar and all the other small things that make life livable. Don’t get me wrong, I love to travel only not in this period when half of the western world is travelling.

I like it in May or October, when everybody is back at their jobs, just like I did when I was still working. Staff came first and the boss would go in the off-season for a week. Yes, I was married to my job, a 6 day working week and doing administration on the 7th. And now with all the time off I can’t decide what to do with all the time left.

 

3 thoughts on “Greetings from Costa Verandah

    1. ​Just returned from my tour to Monnickendam, including a detour I arrived home on the last ‘vapors’ of the battery. Now I know the scooter can reach, when its warm and sunny, at least 36 km / 22 miles. Including a light lunch at the harbour front in M’dam it only took 4 hours.

Comments are closed.