New Series in the New Year

Sometimes a word or just a hint brings me to a subject, and in this case a new series. An email from ‘the dealer’ yesterday afternoon made me aware that maybe my order couldn’t be filled before Xmas. And since it just had stopped raining, the sun was breaking through the clouds, I just jumped on my scooter and drove to town.

All went well, just a flurry of snow while crossing the IJ waterway on the ferry, but as soon as I was on the other side clear skies and sunshine. He had a full house, so a number of customers just waited at the common table, talking to each other. I met a dentist with a sweet tooth, and a customer who didn’t like chocolate before, until he tasted the good stuff. And then it dawned on me, we have so many specialized stores, where they still give good service, advice and take time for their customers, that they need to be mentioned.

A new series was born in my head, the Best Of Amsterdam 2012 series. Now I have to do some research. The ‘dealer’ will be in it too of course, but also the best olives, salt, apple pie* etcetera. I don’t smoke but I do know which is the best cigar store in town. So watch these pages in 2012!

*BTW, it’s not the amount you taste but the quality.

About Peter

I'm a man from Amsterdam, the Netherlands.
This entry was posted in Amsterdam, Architecture, Art, Books, Daily life, Design, Fashion, Food, Museum, Netherlands, Theater. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Series in the New Year

  1. Jon says:

    Don’t forget the cheese! :D
    Hugs
    Jon

  2. Pingback: TGiF | Tippin' the Scales

Leave a Reply

