Tippin' the Scales


5 Comments

Weigh In On The Way Out

Another day in ‘scale heaven’ or so I hoped it would be.

I left home at 7.45 AM to arrive two hours later at my destination, or 45 minutes late for my appointment. On my scooter I would have made it but using ‘public transport’ for the handicapped was today a whole different story. At least I saw parts of town I’ve never been to before.

Because I arrived late I had to wait for my weigh in session till the end. Again I got compliments, this time from the other losers [of weight], how slim I looked and the bright colors I was wearing.

I had to explain how I did it, looking slimmer, wearing more colourful clothes and showing off the jeans. I kept to my diet most of the time and it shows now when almost 50 kilo have gone up in thin air. Also buying clothes of the rack, instead of having them made to measure all the time, brings a wider choice of articles.

On the downside, after the session was over and I stood on the scales, well… let’s say I gained 2 kilo over the last 5 weeks. Of those two kilo almost 1 kilo comes from the jeans. I normally wear Super 120’s wool trousers, which weigh next to nothing, but by showing off the jeans I gained some. Just my luck.

Let’s hope the weather stays like it is at the moment, more sunshine and higher temperatures are fine too, it will give me more opportunities to walk a bit more to the mall across the street. Not only for shopping but also for having a cup of Java or enjoying the sun.


1 Comment

Eat The Season – Clams

Clams and Chourico

Makes 4 servings

Prep: 10 minutes
Cook: 20 minutes

Shopping List:

  • 24 small clams in shell, scrubbed
  • 35 gr or 1/4 cup cornmeal
  • 60 ml or 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 225 gr or 8 ounces Portuguese chourico sausage, diced
  • 110 gr or 1 medium red onion, sliced
  • 1 gr or 1 pinch red pepper flakes [optional]
  • 350 ml or 1 [12 fluid ounce] can or bottle dark beer
  • 225 gr or 1 [8 ounce] bottle clam juice
  • 800 gr or 1 [28 ounce] can crushed roma tomatoes
  • 20 gr or 3 tablespoons chopped fresh oregano
  • 1 gr or 1 pinch salt and pepper to taste

TO MAKE:

  1. Place clams in a large pot with enough water to cover. Stir in cornmeal. Let stand for about 20 minutes. Rinse clams thoroughly before cooking.
  2. Heat the olive oil and garlic in a large pot over medium heat. When the garlic is fragrant, add the chourico, onion, and red pepper flakes.
  3. Cook for 2 or 3 minutes, then pour in about 3/4 of the beer.
  4. Let simmer for a few more minutes, then add the clam juice, tomatoes, and rinsed clams.
  5. Cover, and simmer until all clams have opened.
  6. Season with oregano, salt and pepper before serving.
  7. Drink or discard remaining beer.

Note 1: The cornmeal is to get the sand out of the clams.
Note 2: One major note is to use pure Portuguese chourico, not spanish or mexican, for a truly delicious flavor!

ENJOY !

Amount Per Serving
Calories: 435
Total Fat: 30.5g
Cholesterol: 46mg
Sodium: 1007mg
Total Carbs: 23.2g
Dietary Fiber: 2.9g
Protein: 12.9g

PDF of this recipe: 02-2_Eat+The_Season_Clams

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 396 other followers