I Would Like To Thank The Academy…

Mark, of Our Simple Lifes… surprised me with the Versatile Blogger Award. Part of receiving this award includes listing seven interesting things about myself that my readers probably don’t already know. That’s the hard part, I think I’m an open book.

  1. As I kid I hated to wear a Knickerbocker, which was fashionable in the early twenties of the 1900′s, but not in 1965! And my Dad worked in fashion, go figure. So I fell, and it was ripped, and he made a Bermuda out of it… a corduroy Bermuda!
  2. I studied at the Graphic Highschool here in Amsterdam, I liked the parts where you worked with your hands, but I didn’t give a rats-ass what the chemicals were made off. I left after a year, but still love the feel of paper and fonts.
  3. In 1746 my great-, great-, great- etcetera grandfather came to Amsterdam, he was a tailor, the oldest son in my family, since then,  has been a tailor too. I’m the exception to the rule, I’ve already a problem sewing on a button.
  4. All the first sons have the same three initials, P.G.H., they are either called Piet or Peter. 
  5. That’s another thing that stops with me, no kids.
  6. The Thursday Recipes come from all over the WWW, some I’ve made, but most not. I live alone and then you don’t cook for 4 or 6 often. Where others eat 1 portion, I can only eat half of that amount. Next to that my freezer is far to small to put in leftovers.
  7. You can wake me up in the middle of the night for Macadamia Nut Brittle ice cream from Häagen Dasz.

And now here is the part where I embarrass others. And I find this difficult for me since I feel like I’m picking “favorites”.  But here they are and here is why I have chosen them.

Josh at Gay Spirit Diary. We met online after I read a book he wrote in 2001, I was with both feet and legs in plaster and had all the time in the world to read, or texting via AOL. We met in 2005 and 2009 and spend a vacation together. And then there is difference between us, he a lay-minister, web-vicar and I’m a former Catholic. Over the years he’s become a Best Friend.

Michael of Temporary Trouble Spots. He brings a smile to my face each morning with his witty posts. Last year when I was in Chicago, we couldn’t fix a date to meet each other, but we’re still young…  

The Cajun of On Transmigration. He has conquered hardship, losing his job and finding another one in a totally different field. Just like me he loves good food. Next to that a friend of his knows Josh too. It’s a small world after all.

Since they didn’t say how many you can forward the award to, here’s my last one:

Lemuel of The Greedy Maelstrom, His posts are not that often, but regular. And he’s a regular commenter to my posts. He’s an optimistic man who loves his Princess and his wife too. If times had been different in his early years he would have made another personal choice, but becoming a Grandfather is something he looks forward to.

Rules For The Versatile Blogger Award

► Acknowledge the award and thank and link back to the person bestowing it. A good way to do this is through a post such as this.

► Pass on the award to other bloggers:

►Let the new recipients know you’ve selected them. This is optional.

►Share seven things about yourself that your readers or followers might not know. (See “Seven Bits,” above.)

►Post the award to your blog.

About Peter

I'm a man from Amsterdam, the Netherlands.
This entry was posted in Just because.... Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Would Like To Thank The Academy…

  1. josh says:

    I’m not at all sure you should be electing me, but I do agree that your life is an open book (and a good little novel at that). You do a lot of good here, Peter, with your recipes, your history and culture lessons, your photos, Julius the blogging dog, and more.

    So I’m not going to thank the Academy, I’m going to point out what the Academy’s done. By making your weight struggle visible, then going on to live your life anyway, not only have you gained almost half a million visitors, you’ve made 465,000 friends.

    Some of us struggle with weight, some with Gayness, some with loneliness, financial hardships, loss of meaning. Nobody gets through life unscathed.

    But you have the courage and the largeness of heart to open yourself and be a friend to others. With all your previous successes, you’ve never been more popular or influential than you are now.

    You are the award-winner – and I’m proud to have you in my life.

    Josh

  2. Urspo says:

    congratulations on the award.
    By the way, from whence did your ancestor come?

  3. Tai says:

    Congratulations! :)

  4. Peter says:

    My ancestors come from the town of Enger near Bielefeld in North Rhine-Westphalia. He and his fiancé left a tryving village in which the main source of income came from weaving cloth and the tailors who made suits and dresses for the nobles in Bielefeld, Herford and the surrounding countryside.

  5. Michael Guy says:

    Oh! My! I’m not someone who ‘wins’ much in life but how sweet of you to bestow the honor. I agree with Josh’ comments above. Beyond that – for someone I’ve never met you were an integral part of my cyber support team when I began life anew as a single man three years ago. I will never forget your kindness, Peter.

    Okay…off to think of my seven things…. :)

    Michael

  6. Lemuel says:

    Thank you for the honor. You are most kind.

  7. the cajun says:

    I am both surprised and shocked by this selection.

    These are some really good, thoughtful, and witty writers and I am honored to be in such company; and honored to have you in my life, as well.

    You are a blessing in all our lives.

  8. Sardine Mama says:

    Lovely acceptance speech! Mark has such good taste in blogs :)

Leave a Reply

