Missed Out… But Still Proud!

On August 1, Gay Pride started here in Amsterdam. The first event was Grey Pride for older Gays and Lesbians, a forgotten group of people. Sometimes I wonder if you’re older [30+], not as trim [6-pack] or have the right haircut, or feel at home in a scene [bears] that you’re out, over the hill, written off. And yes, I’m grey, older, no 6-pack [unless you count the beer] and I don’t feel at home in a certain scene…

I had hoped to go, last Thursday night, to the open air cinema on Nieuwmarkt for the Gay movie, and last night for the Lesbian, but that didn’t happen for obvious reasons. [read the post before this one]. Same goes for today, we, Corrie my friend/neighbor and I had planned our spot along Prinsengracht in advance, including what to bring in our picnic basket [most was liquid, but I always bring something to eat with me too]. But now we both will sit at home on the couch watching the Parade on local TV. I for the reasons given earlier and she because she almost broke two toes and is working on the refurbishing of her own home. [As a Lesbian she's very good in painting, not as good in electrical stuff, but neither am I].

The white wine is in the fridge, and the food too! We spray-paint Julius in pink [of course NOT!] and have our own little party.

About Peter

I'm a man from Amsterdam, the Netherlands.
This entry was posted in Amsterdam, Daily life, Dutch, Equality, Family, Festive, Freedom of Speech, Friends, Fun, Gay, GLBT, History, Human Rights, Netherlands, Pride, Traditions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Missed Out… But Still Proud!

  1. Lemuel says:

    I’m so sorry that you will miss being present at your Pride, but I am happy to hear that you are taking care of yourself and yet able to watch it on TV.

    Boy, do I understand the Grey Pride – the forgotten ones concept. Beyond the other obvious challenges to my gay card, I have age and weight. I would love to be young, buf, and handsome, but it just ain’t happenin’. Never was. But it was in the early 2000′s that I found the bear subculture and, within that, older bears. Like the ugly duckling, I found my own. Would that it had existed and I had found it in my 20′s.

  2. Rick says:

    Oh God, I just read about your heart incident. Please take care of yourself. I hope you’re doing better…well you must be if you are home.

    You can celebrate Pride in the comfort of your home.

    Thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

