A small introduction

My name is Peter, and in the coming weeks I’ll have surgery for a gastric band. When people asked me “what is your weight?” I always said ‘too much’, and it really was too much. I’m morbidly obese, next to that I’ve diabetes and a rare bone/muscle disease [Charcot] which up to now only occurs in my feet and lower limbs. Moving around town I do in my electric scooter, because walking all the way is too hard.

Six years ago they found out I had that bone disease, I had broken my foot in 5 different places without knowing, and walked around with it for 4 months [!] if not longer. It changed my life completely, from working 6 days a week, to no work at all in a matter of hours. I stayed in plaster with both feet and legs for two years. At last I had time in abundance to read, which is one of my hobbies.

After two years I started to do some voluntary work, linked to my old profession, which I can do from home behind my computer.

Since two-thirds of my “sell by date” is gone, I want to have a great last third. Aren’t we all hoping for old age? With all its pros and cons?

Tomorrow I’ll have an intake with the anesthesiologist and I hope surgery will follow in February or soon thereafter. Next to surgery, obese people in the Netherlands, have to follow a course which will take 26 weeks. During this time you learn how to eat, how to move, and how to over come your frustrations.

This blog is one way of dealing with those frustrations, but also a way of showing family and friends how I’m dealing with my weight loss program.

Now you’ll understand the double meaning of tippin’ the scales!

at January 3 my weight was 198.6 kg  and BMI 47.4

7 thoughts on “A small introduction

  1. Congratulations on your new blog, Peter! Good luck with the intake.

    The Golden Rule says, “Love yourself as much as you love your neighbor.”

  2. Congratulations on your new blog and the decision you made to go ahead with this procedure.
    Its great that you use this blog to update family and friends on you weight loss experience.

Comments are closed.