Tippin' the Scales

TMI – Pride 2013

3 Comments

we-are-proud-amsterdam1. Tell me about your first Pride.
It was 2004, before that time I was out but didn’t go places, I worked 6 days a week until the end of June 2001, then had my burnout, and was since September with both feet and legs in plaster till the end of 2003.
2. What did that first Pride mean to you?
Liberation, showing support for the cause
3. How many different Prides have you been to?
Five by now, normally I’m abroad in the odd years, for the Guild. This year I stay home, Seoul – South Korea was a bit too far.
4. Do you fly the Pride Flag and/or stick it to anything?
I fly a Pride flag from my balcony, but also one on my scooter, the rest of the year it’s bright orange, for safety.
5. Do you still celebrate Pride? What does it mean to you now?
Yes I do! The meaning of Pride hasn’t changed. I’m glad I live in a country where it doesn’t matter who you love. It’s written in our Constitution, Article 1.
6. Does Pride need improving? If so, what changes would you make?
It can always be improved, especially in the media. Sometimes you get the feeling you’re still a second class person.
7. How do you give back?
We, as PINK NOORD, organize a picnic on Sunday July 28, with live music in the Noorderpark, of course in Amsterdam-Noord.

BONUS 1
What kind of trouble or embarrassing moment have you had during Pride?

I had no troubles or embarrassing moments, I met people I thought I knew, as former customers, but who turned out just as Gay as I am.
BONUS 2
Pride in the Netherlands doesn’t start till July 27 and goes on till August 4.

Author: Peter

I'm a man from Amsterdam, the Netherlands.

3 thoughts on “TMI – Pride 2013

  1. I like #5; I wish we had an article in OUR constitution that excludes no one. :(

  2. Re Bonus 1, it is funny when you come across someone in that situation and you had no idea they were gay.

  3. I’m with anne marie in philly. We’re recognized and protected here in Spain. We weren’t in the USA. Wish I could be in Amsterdam for a PINK NOORD picnic!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 272 other followers