Tippin' the Scales

Traveling The World

2 Comments

transportYesterday I had a meeting with the board of the Guild. Some were surprised to see me there, so they asked me “How, what, when?” but most of all “Who’s paying for all of this?” To answer one before I tell the rest of the story, I had to answer some of the questions of the board, most of our communications is done by email, but some things are better answered person-to-person.

So I told them I flew in late on Friday night from Milan, my suitcases would be still in the hotel because I would leave the meeting earlier to fly back that same afternoon.

Just to clear things up for you, my readers, the Guild is an association of tailors and fashion design schools in the Netherlands. I’m their webmaster and media person, since I work from home I have spare time a plenty, so I can do this traveling and still keep up the site.

It all started early February [the 7th] when New York Fashion Week started, I saw 34 out of 100 shows and posted them on our site in the locked off members area. From New York I flew to London, England where London Fashion Week started on February 15, sleeping the jetlag away on the plane. Here I covered 18 from the over 50 shows, some famous names but also not so famous, in that last group you’ll find new inspiration. I also saw a show by one of my former employers, thirty-five years ago I worked in their brand store on Piccadilly [which is now one of the largest Waterstone’s bookstores btw] and now I was sitting 2nd row in their show. London came and went, it was a 4 day week and on February 19 I settled in my hotel in Milan for Milan Fashion Week.

On Saturday I missed out on the shows of Bottega Veneta, Trussardi, Roberto Cavalli and Jil Sander, but today I hope to make up on it by visiting Emporio Armani, Dolce & Gabbana, Missoni and Salvatore Ferragamo. Monday will be an easy day when only Giorgio Armani will do a show. After that I have to catch transport to  Paris Fashion Week. This last one will be hell, over 85 shows to cover in just 6 days!

And to answer the questions “Who’s paying for all of this?” The Guild is paying, transport, hotel, taxi’s, bribes to get in, all of it. Especially when you have to pinch every penny, as we do. [who doesn’t] So then came the“How, what, when?” Everybody could do it, by visiting the right websites, using photos that are in the open field, reading the right articles, if possible combining the two, all in the comfort of your own home and your favorite chair. It’s almost like reading travel or adventure stories, in your mind’s eye you travel to far away places, while you still have the comforts of your own home and sleep in your own bed.

And then the penny dropped!

Author: Peter

I'm a man from Amsterdam, the Netherlands.

2 thoughts on “Traveling The World

  1. busy boy! at least you don’t have to physically run into lowlifes (think mary-kate and ashley olsen) whilst seated in your fave chair in the comfort of your home.

  2. and what a penny that was !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 290 other followers